Where is the Darts Players’ Championship Held?

Want to enjoy the player’s championship live but don’t know where is the darts player’s championship held? The 2023 darts players championship will help at Minehead in England from 23 – 27 November. Keep reading to get some history about the location where it was organized, who are the champions, and what the format is.

Where is the Darts Players’ Championship Held?

The professional darts corporation first organized this player’s championship finals in 2009 in Circus Tavern, Purfleet. Though it first featured the top 32 players, the field increased to 64 players in 2016. Following are the name of the place where the darts players’ championship was held along with the years:

Year Location 
2009-2010Circus Tavern, Purfleet
2011Doncaster Dome, Doncaster
2012-2019Butlins Resort, Minehead
2020Ricoh Arena, Coventry
2021-2022Butlins Resort, Minehead

The Winners of the Darts Players’ Championship

Michael van Gerwen wins this darts player’s championship tournament seven times making him the most successful player. Phil Taylor also wins this tournament three times while the rest of the five wins it once. 

Player name Winning years
Phil Taylor2009, 2011, 2012
Paul Nicholson2010
Kevin Painter2011(Feb)
Michael van Gerwen 2013, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2019, 2020, 2022
Gary Anderson2014 
Daryl Gurney 2018
Peter Wright2021

The Format of the Darts Players’ Championship

Based on their place in the Players Championship Order of Merit, 64 players are seeded. Then every player face each other in a fixed bracket to maintain the No. 1 seed playing No. 64, and No. 2 playing No. 63. 

The format for the 1st and 2nd rounds was best of 11 legs and the 3rd and 4th rounds were best of 19 legs. The semi-final and final were played following best of 19 legs format.

Final Words

The darts players’ championship doesn’t help in plenty of places and is mostly organized in England. You can both enjoy the tournament sitting in the gallery or watching live.